The MESI-STRAT Consortium

14 Partners from six European countries conribute to MESI-STRAT:

Jointly with modelers and experimentalists at the University of Newcastle, UK (Dr. Shanley) and the Charite in Berlin, Germany (Prof. Sers), work at the UMCG (Prof. Thedieck) focuses on oncogenic signaling through the mTOR and MAPK networks.

Experimentalists and modelers at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ, Dr. Opitz), the University of Bergen, Norway (Prof. Ziegler), the University of Tromso, Norway (Prof. Heiland) and Neuroimmun GmbH, Karlsruhe, Germany (Dr. Kellner) focus on metabolic networks centered on tryptophan and NAD metabolism.

Model and data management and analyses are conducted by HITS, Heidelberg (PD Dr. Müller) and the University of Durham (Dr. Grellscheid). SysBioSim B.V. (Tektemur-Altay) in Leiden, The Netherlands customizes our models for the pharma sector.

Our computational models are developed, individualized, and validated based on patient derived in vitro and in vivo models from Dr. Serra (Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology, Barcelona, Spain) and Prof. van den Eynde (De Duve Institute, Brussels, Belgium), and patient samples from clinical trials within and associated with MESI-STRAT. The MESI-STRAT clinical trials are coordinated by the clinician scientist Dr. Opitz (DKFZ), and conducted by PATH Biobank (Dr. Anzeneder) and the University Hospital Heidelberg (Prof. Schott, Prof. Schneeweiss).

Prof. Dr. Kathrin Thedieck
MESI-STRAT Coordinator
Leader WP8 – Project Coordination
thedieck@mesi-strat.eu

Dr. med. Tobias Anzeneder
MESI-STRAT Co-coordinator
Leader WP1 – MESI-Repository
Co-leader WP9 – MESI-Impact
anzeneder@path-biobank.org

Dr. Christiane Opitz
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Leader WP6 – Clinical Studies and Longitudal Analyses
c.opitz@dkfz.de

Dr. Wolfgang Müller
Leader of WP2 – MESI-SEEK
Model and Data Management Platform
wolfgang.mueller@h-its.org

Dr. Sushma Grellscheid
Co-leader WP2 – MESI-SEEK
Model and Data Management Platform
sushma@cantab.net

Prof. Dr. Christine Sers
Leader WP3 – Signalling Data
christine.sers@charite.de

Prof. Dr. Mathias Ziegler
Leader WP4 – Metabolic Data
mathias.ziegler@uib.no

Dr. Daryl Shanley
Leader WP5 – Systems Biomedicine
daryl.shanley@ncl.ac.uk

Prof. Dr. Sarah Schott
Leader WP7 – Preclinical and Clinical Trials
sarah.schott@med-uni-heidelberg.de

Basak Tektemur Altay MBA, MSc.
Leader WP9 – MESI-Impact
basak.tektemur.altay
@sysbiosim.com

Prof. Dr. Ines Heiland
Systems modelling
ines.heiland@uit.no

Dr. Karl-Heinz Kellner
Metabolite diagnostics
kk@drkellner.de

Dr. Violeta Serra
Patient derived breast cancer models
vserra@vhio.net

Prof. Dr. Benoit van den Eynde
Cancer immunology
benoit.vandereynde
@bru.licr.org

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 754688.